Other Historic Sites
These sites served various purposes and are important by virtue of their historic, architectural, traditional, artistic, aesthetic, scientific or archaeological value.
- 1 King Street - formerly the Manse of the Burchell Baptist Church.
- Admiralty Houses - part of the Old Naval Dockyard in Port Royal.
- Bamboo Avenue - is located on the main South Coast Highway, in the parish of St Elizabeth.
- Barnett Street Police Station - dates back to the late 19th century, constructed of cut stone.
- Bob Marley Museum - is located along Hope Road in the former residence of the Hon. Robert Nesta Marley.
- Bog Walk Gorge - or Rio Cobre Gorge was discovered by Carey Helyar during the 1660s.
- Cast Iron Fountain - located near to the Courthouse in Savanna-La-Mar, Westmoreland.
- Claude McKay's Birthplace - internationally acclaimed writer and poet, born 1889 in James Hill, Clarendon.
- Colbeck Castle - is a massive stone and brick ruin with walls standing to their full original height.
- Craighton House - was named after its first owner, George Craighton.
- DeMontevin lodge - built in 1881, is an eclectic mix of the Victorian architectural style, with gingerbread details.
- Devon House - is a fine example of nineteenth (19th) century domestic architecture in Jamaica.
- Edinburgh Castle -was built by Lewis Hutchinson, who is Jamaica's earliest recorded serial killer.
- Falmouth Wharves - stand as a reminder of the town’s former glory.
- Firefly House - home of British Playwright Noel Coward, called "Look Out" by the famous pirate Henry Morgan.
- Golmont View House - originally consisted of a 10 bedrooms including a dungeon used in the days of slavery.
- Gordon House - became the official meeting place of the Jamaican Government on Wed, October 26, 1960.
- Grove Hill House - located in Montego Bay, the capital of St. James, was built in the early 18th century.
- Harmony Hall House - is indicative of Jamaican-Georgian architectural style with its intricate fretwork.
- Hibbert House /Headquarters House - head office of the Jamaica National Heritage Trust, 79 Duke St, Kgn.
- Institute of Jamaica - was established in 1879 during the governorship of Sir Anthony Musgrave.
- Invercauld - on Black River’s seaside High Street is a fine example of late Jamaican Georgian architecture.
- Kendal Railway Tragedy - The worst railway disaster in Jamaica’s history on September 1, 1957 at 11:30.
- Lillian’s Restaurant & the Ruins of Three Concrete Silos - built around 1912, stands as a charming bungalow.
- Lovers' Leap - consists of a cliff with a drop of approximately 1,600 feet.
- Manchester Club Golf Course - built in 1865 & possibly the oldest surviving club in the western hemisphere.
- Moneague Inn - In 1860, described as “the best hotel in the island”.
- New Castle Training Depot - founded in 1841 by Major Gen. Sir William Maynard Gomm (later Field Marshall).
- Oakton House - erected around mid 19th century, displaying features informed by Georgian architecture.
- Old Police Station and Court House - location was originally the site of a Jewish Synagogue.
- Old Slave Ring - at the corner of Union & East Streets, is a semi-circular arena-like structure with brick walls.
- Orange Park - located in the hills of Yallahs, St. Thomas, was once a coffee plantation.
- Persian Water Wheel - ordered by the Falmouth Water Company and installed in 1798.
- Pinnacle - Around 1940, Leonard Howell, the founder of Rastafarianism, established the first Rastafari community
- Public Building East & West - among the early structures in Kingston to utilise concrete in its construction.
- Rio Bueno - small town believed to be where Christopher Columbus first landed.
- Stewart Castle - offers valuable insights into the dietary habits of the Tainos.
- The Dome - is located in St. James, erected over the source of the creek in Montego Bay.
- Town House - built in 1776, this building predates the Parish Church by ten (10) years.
- Ward Theatre - presented as a gift to the city of Kingston in 1912 by Colonel Charles Ward.
- White Marl Taino Midden and Museum - established in 1965 in memory of Dr. Randolph Howard.